Frederick Festival of the Arts


The Frederick Arts Council board of directors voted to cancel the 2020 Frederick Festival of the Arts which had been scheduled to take place June 5-7, out of an interest for public health and safety in light of the COVID-19 pandemic. This decision is in keeping with Governor Larry Hogan’s most recent recommendations announced today regarding large convenings, which have an uncertain reopen date within Phase III of the Maryland Strong Roadmap to Recovery.

Artists and vendors who were selected to participate in the 2020 festival will have their booth fees refunded.

“Unfortunately, it seemed the obvious conclusion was to cancel this year’s scheduled Festival after closely following the trajectory of this pandemic,” said John Bekier, President of the Frederick Arts Council.

Because the festival depends on hundreds working together on dates set a year in advance, it is not possible to reschedule for this year. Next year’s Festival of the Arts is scheduled for Jun 4-6, 2021.

“We feel it was essential that we do our part to help curb the coronavirus’ spread,” said Louise Kennelly, Executive Director of the Arts Council. We greatly appreciate our festival sponsors, including the following who are keeping their support with the Frederick Arts Council: Hood College; Kaiser Permanente; Frederick County Bank; Restoration Family Chiropractic; Marketing and Research Resources (M&RR); Research for Good; Rakuten Insight; Daynata; and Prodege MR, and Luxury Bath.

“Our Festival committee has been hard at work since October and fortunately, much of that good planning can be used in the future,” said Festival director, Jasmine Sneed.

Artists, were selected from a pool of applicants through a blind jury process. To apply, artists submitted digital images of their artwork and booth set-up through ZAPPlication™. A jury of art experts reviewed the entries, identified only by number, and selected the work based on merit and quality, as well as booth presentation.

The following performing artists were scheduled to perform on the Festival’s main stage:

Friday evening, June 5th: Bad Influence; Saturday June 6th: Andrew Kasab, Dong Xi Music, Conor and the Wild Hunt and ilyAIMY; Sunday, June 7th: Kipyn Marti and Emma G and her Band of Misfits.

In addition to the main stage, the FAME (Frederick Acoustic Music Enterprise) had programmed two full days of acoustic musicians and the Community Stage was slated to feature a variety of community group performances.

More than 100 artists were juried into this year’s festival. Selected artists for this year’s festival included the following:


Bill Colby, New Smyrna Beach FL
Sarah Houde, Hollywood MD
Ben May, Finksburg MD
Kathy Swan, Ellicott City MD

Julia Sclar, Frederick MD
Anthony Huonder, Minneapolis MN
Samuel Hitchman, Cincinnati OH
Selinda Kennedy,  Muncy PA

Victor and Megan Huston-Field, Bedford PA
Misha Sanborn, Fredericksburg VA
Kevin Rodrigue, Spotsylvania VA

Digital (any manipulation, i.e. photography, collage etc.)

Susan Williams, Fleetwood PA
Glen Klein, Danville PA

Drawing / Graphics / Printmaking

Ikumi Kayama, Riverdale MD
Charlie Barton, Baltimore MD
William Lewis, Gettysburg PA
Bob Friedenberg, Round Hill VA

Fiber (wearable & non-wear, baskets, rugs, handmade paper & collage)

Brittani Locke, Boonsboro MD
Erin Draper, Baltimore MD
Somnath Sengupta, Ellicott City MD 

Samuel Yao, Ann Arbor MI
Terry Lo, Manalapan NJ 
Nanako Miller, New York NY 

Jeanne Scannell, Newburg PA 
Deborah O’Keeffe, Staunton VA
Kali Basi, Yelm WA


David Leidy, Sorrento FL
David Sandidge, Clermont FL
John DiCarlo, Fort Myers FL
Sebastian Coleman, Mt. Vernon, OH
Richard Bond, Ottawa Ontario


Leah Staley, Scotts Valley CA
Merrilee Harrigan, Washington DC
Christie May, Palm Beach FL
Candace Stribling, Frederick MD
Stacey Krantz, Braddock Heights MD
John and Debbie Sosnowsky, Union Bridge MD
Scott Wolf, Rockville MD

Alison Jefferies, Catonsville MD
Lauren Nogrady, Middletown MD
Wendy Waugaman, Port Clyde ME
lene Kay, Clyde NC
Marie-Pierre Pulcini, Jefferson NY
Julie Leininger, Gansevoort NY
Larry Tallent, Norman OK
Rona Fisher, Philadelphia PA

Kara Raymond, Doylestown PA
Zbigniew Chojnacki, Philadelphia PA
Kelly Civitarese, Philadelphia, PA
Lisa Markowitz, Reston VA
Ninika Gordon, Madison VA
Jon Black, Winooski VT
Jessica Bryson, Points WV

Jewelry (Other)

Lisa Davin, Delray Beach FL
Megan Horan, Raleigh NC
Lou Frederick, New York NY


Merrianne Nichols, Dover DE
John Davis, Hyattsville MD
Lisa Strauss, Hackettstown NJ
Judith Smith, Springfield OR


Bud Scheffel, Kingston NY
Robert Yates, McDonough NY
Douglas Hain, Myerstown PA

Mixed Media (includes Sculpture)

Kim Klabe, Rehobeth Beach DE
Vered Yanay, Rockville MD

Cari Corene, Boonsboro MD
Richard Trincere, Jackson heights NY

Jeffrey Wateska, Pittsburgh PA
Ginger Reuling, Berryville VA

Musical Instruments

Janet Spahr, Carlisle PA


Justin Alsedek, Ocala FL
Rachel Ratcliff, Clearwater FL
Geraldine Butler, Columbia MD
Goodloe Byron, Frederick MD
Vincent Hughes, Silver Spring MD
Rachel Stevenson, Hagerstown MD
Gerald Troutman, Sykesville MD
Steve Rowlands, Bel Air MD

Michael Adams, Frederick MD
Daniel Kessler, Gaithersburg MD
Stefanie Waller, Frederick MD
Cynthia Scott, Frederick MD
Guanwen Wu, Brooklyn
Jane Wise, Denver PA
Anne Lee, Pittsburgh PA
Joe Jacobs, Dallastown PA

Phill Singer, New Britain PA
Paul Gallo, Middletown PA
Brian Eppley, Mechanicsburg PA
Jerry Brem, Beaufort SC
Wynn Booty, Midlothian VA
Karri Mohr, Midlothian VA
Rebecca Jones, Shepherdstown WV


Timothy Hall, Tampa FL
Steven Shrader, Townsend GA
James Corbett, Rockville MD
Albert Schafer, Baltimore MD

Eric Stavale, Frederick MD
Brandon Hirt, Ebensburg PA
Larry Downey, Waterford PA

Art Heim, State College PA
Paul Grecian, Millville PA
Ryan Feipel, Leesburg VA
Chris Fedderson, Alexandria VA


Ursula Perry, Shokan NY
Jaron Reeser, Pickerington OH

Zbigniew Chojnacki, Philadelphia PA
Robert Wertz, Mechanicsburg PA

Roland Paronish, Carrolltown PA
Lorann Jacobs, Dallastown PA


Kevin Finney, Stevensville MD
Kanda Harp, Sparrows Point MD

Michael Cruz, Keedysville MD
Gary Carver, Ijamsville MD

David Souza, Gilbertsville PA
William Thompson, Arlington VA


Maryland Writers Association, Ijamsville MD

For more information or media inquiries, contact our Festival Director, Jasmine Sneed, at or 301-662-4190.


Learn More


Learn More

Artist Exhibitors

Learn More